Home Curriculum State Testing
Student Assessments PDF Print E-mail

In Indiana, all students in grades 3 through 10 take the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+). Based on Indiana's Academic Standards, the test includes English/language arts at each grade, as well as science at grades 5 and 7. Solid reading, writing and math skill are 'must haves" for a successful future. ISTEP+ is designed to make sure you master these basics on your way to earning a high school diploma, If you don't know enough to pass the test, that's a sign that you need some extra help.

End of Course Assessments (ECAs)

The purpose of the Indiana Statewide Testing of Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP) program is to measure student achievement in subject areas of English/Language Arts, Science, and Mathematics. In particular, ISTEP+ reports student achievement levels accordingly to the Indiana Academic Standards that were adopted in November 2000 by the Indiana State Board of Education.  The ISTEP+ End of Course Assessments (ECAs) are criterion-referenced assessments developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra 1, Biology 1, or English 10.


The purpose of the Indiana Reading Evaluation and Determination (IREAD-3) assessment is to measure foundational reading standards through grade three.  Based on the Indiana Academic Standards, IREAD-3 is a summative assessment that was developed in accordance with House Enrolled Act 1367 (also known as Public Law 109 in 2010), which “requires the evaluation of reading skill for students who are in grade three beginning in the Spring of 2012 to ensure that all students can read proficiently before moving on to grade four.”

LAS Links English Proficiency Assessment

The purpose of the LAS Links assessment is to determine a student’s level of English proficiency, The placement test, administered upon the student’s arrival in the United States, is used to determine which English Learner (EL) services are appropriate for the student. The annual assessment, administered in January and February, is used to determine the student’s current level of English proficiency. The annual assessment is also used for accountability purposes.

LAS Links assesses students in grades K-12 on four domains: Listening, Speaking, Reading, and Writing. This assessment is administered in five grade bands: k-1, 2-3, 4-5, 6-8, 9-12.

Acuity (Grades 3-8, Algebra 1, English 10)

The purpose of the Acuity assessments is to provide diagnostic measures for grade 3-8 students in English/Language Arts (E/LA), Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies, as well as for students in Algebra 1.  Assessment reports provide standards-aligned performance data, which support an educator’s ability to inform instruction at the student, class, school, and corporation level.  For grades 3-8, there are three types of assessments available in the online Acuity assessment system: Predictive, Standard Diagnostic, and Curriculum Map –Aligned.  For Acuity Algebra 1, one type of assessment (Predictive) is available in the Acuity assessment system.  Please click here for an overview of the Acuity assessments for grades 3-8 and Algebra 1.

mCLASS (K-2)

The purpose of the mCLASS assessments is to provide diagnostic measures for K-2 students in literacy and numeracy.  mCLASS: Reading 3D and mCLASS : Math tools help to identify students’ foundational skills and provide teachers with instructional suggestions based on student performance on benchmark assessments and regular progress monitoring.

National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)

The National Assessment Governing Board (NAGB) is an independent, bipartisan advisory board that includes governors, legislators, educators, and business representatives.  The NAGB selects the academic subject areas to be assessed on the National Assessment Educational Progress (NAEP) and develops the content standards for those subjects.  Content experts from the Indiana Department of Education have the opportunity to review all test questions prior to inclusion on the assessment.
To view information about NAEP policies, test development, history and current legislation about the national assessment, please visit www.nagb.org.
To view the content standards (Frameworks) for the subjects assessed by NAEP, go to www.nagb.org  and select “About NAEP” below the main bullets.


RocketTheme Joomla Templates

Teacher Login